Why I want to be an Entrepreneur…

Everyone wants to be rich. Money drives people. Money is often the cause of either happiness or duress. Having more money makes people happy and having less of it causes duress. I’ve always wanted to be very wealthy. My parents work very hard and struggled at times in my childhood to keep food on the table and to not lose the mortgage on the house. I’ve seen them take night jobs, go through months of layoffs, get raises, come home crying, etc.

I want to make a TON of money. I want to be so rich that money will never be an issue for myself or my family. I don’t want to make money just to spend it on stupid crap all the time and flaunt it around. I don’t want to buy Porsche’s, Tropical Islands, Big Screen TV’s, etc. I want to be financially sufficient and have the freedom to do whatever the hell I want throughout the day through owning my own business.

I like how Donald Trump puts it, “Money was never a big motivation for me, except as a way to keep score.” I like the idea of starting at ZERO and watching my net worth grow. I am an active stock market investor (even with my limited funds) and enjoy seeing the GREEN percentages on my Scottrade account. I like the idea of growth and entrepreneurship creates that opportunity for me. I don’t see my net worth growing in a long bell curve in the job I’m in now. Most people see 5% raises every year. Year after year. With the lofty goals I’ve set for myself, I’ll never get there working for the man.

I enjoy the idea of my business being MY project for ME to grow. In the job I have now, I work my ass off. Not because I want to grow, but because I work in a commission job and my paycheck reflects the work I put into it. Owning my own business allows me the opportunity to freely do what I think is necessary for me to reach my goals. I like the idea of working at home if I chose, or not working at all. I like the idea that I can grow a business to a certain level and put the day-to-day operations on autopilot through acquiring employees and leveraging the work.

Bottom line. Look at all the wealthy people in the world. OWNERS. They own assets, they own a business, they own realestate, they own a licenses to products or patents, they OWN. Trump is rich not because he has a highpaying job. He OWNS. Bill Gates isn’t rich because Microsoft gave him a sweet job with nice benefits. HE OWNS IT. Entrepreneurship offers the entrepreneur ownership in what he/she is doing. You OWN the right to work 80-100 hrs/week and reap 100% of the net revenues. You OWN the right to do whatever the hell you want throughout your work week. You OWN the right to sell your business at anytime you chose and reap the rewards. You OWN the assets you pick up along the way. You OWN the realestate you’ve picked up along the way with the money you’ve made.

I want to be an entrepreneur for a number of reasons. So do most people. Are you going to do anything about it? Get off your ass. Get an idea. Educate yourself. Put it to work. NOW.

Leave a comment