The Entrepreneur StartUp Kit- Coach in a Box, by Lyn Christian

My girlfriend gave me a Border’s gift card for my birthday and I went with her to pick some things out.  Most of the books I read are business or investing related.  Sometimes I read magazines or if someone recommends a book, I’ll read it.  I try to keep my reading educational.  I know that I want to learn about business so everything I read is business related for the most part.

Anyways, I stumbled across “The Entrepreneur Startup Kit” by Lyn Christian.  This is an audio tape that’s supposed to help you get your business up and running.  I travel a lot for my current job, and my plan was to throw the CD’s in awhile I’m on one of my 3-5 hour road trips to my next sales call.  I was greatly mistaken for purchasing this piece of garbage.  I read things and listen to Audio CD’s to learn, to truly learn about a topic so I can make educated decisions in my en devours.  I also read and listen to Audio CD’s for motivation to get myself up and going.  This accomplished neither for me.

Basically what this is, is a series of interviews with people that are either coaches of entrepreneur’s (or business people), entrepreneur’s themselves, or just people that don’t work anymore and love the fact that they have ”freedom” to do whatever they want.  One guy they interviewed was just a real estate investor that is now living off his rental income and doesn’t have to work ever again.  Hey, great, good for him.  It didn’t take a genius to make decent money in the real estate boom that we witnessed from 2000-2005.  The first interview was of a coach that asked their students the questions ”what do you want to do with your day?”.  This was supposed to get you motivated to do the things (start a business or invest in real estate) that will get you to that place where you are doing the things you want to do with your day.  That went on for about 45 minutes and I was banging my head against the steering wheel waiting for some substance.  Also, don’t get me wrong, I love things that motivate me to pursue my dreams of becoming an entrepreneur.  This was so boring, and lacked so much substance, I think I just took a step back with pursuing my dreams of becoming an entrepreneur.

Sorry to roast this thing, but I’m serious about becoming an Entrepreneur and I really think it was a poorly made product.

Leave a comment