Entrepreneur’s Journal Entry 3/30/08

I thought I’d tag dates to all of my entries to keep everything consistent. I’d like to have continuous updates on my progress as an entrepreneur, but also have usable content on here, but and also just some room for random thoughts.

This week I had another call with my Trump University mentor, Bill. We discussed how I’ve come along with my business. One thing I wanted to get the ball rolling on was registering my business with the state. Bill helped me decide on registering as an LLC, Corporation, Sole Proprietorship, Partnership, etc. I chose on an LLC for it’s tax benefits and protection. I’d like my business to grow some day but for the moment, it’s just me. I did a lot of research and this made the most sense to me. I then used http://www.legalzoom.com to help me with all of the paperwork. Part of the reason I enrolled at Trump University was to limit any mistakes I would’ve normally made with my business. LegalZoom is another tool I am using. Here’s how it works and why it’s so great:

– LegalZoom prepares all of my documents with the state governments and customizes the registration to how I want my business to operate

– They provide all the necessary forms and get it filled out within 5-10 business days

– All I have to do is fill out a very user-friendly questionnaire about my business, the owners, how I’d like it taxed, etc. AND THEY TAKE CARE OF THE REST

This falls in nicely to my business plan as registering federal and state documents to my first business is something I could definitely screw up. That’s all I need is to get sued 2 years down the road when I’m successful and have everything crumble down because I made a bone-head mistake when registering my business. http://www.legalzoom.com, very recommended.

Leave a comment